1. Not old. Vintage. :)

What's new Pussycat too?

Discussion in 'SIG: General Chat' started by M.D.Baker, May 4, 2020.

  1. Andy Barr

    Andy Barr Deckhand

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Tim,

    I'm mystified - clear as a bell and hi-res at my end.

    I'll try again...

    upload_2020-5-23_16-25-11.png

    What's that looking like, Tim, any better?
     
    Graham and Timothy Kline like this.
  2. by Timothy Kline
    Timothy Kline

    Timothy Kline Administrator Staff Member

    Blog Posts:
    3
    Articles:
    39
    @Andy,

    I think she was my first love as a young lad. In this show. In that uniform.

    --Tim
     
    Graham and Andy Barr like this.
  3. Andy Barr

    Andy Barr Deckhand

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Sizzling sci-fi sweetie...

    [​IMG]
     
    Graham and Timothy Kline like this.
  4. by Timothy Kline
    Timothy Kline

    Timothy Kline Administrator Staff Member

    Blog Posts:
    3
    Articles:
    39
    I can't quite pin things down here in Perry, Michigan, but here are photos of my latest attempt to at least try...

    00 pre-top 800px.jpg

    01 box top.jpg

    03 box staged.jpg

    04 Atari pin collection.jpg

    --Tim
     
    Graham, M.D.Baker and Andy Barr like this.
  5. M.D.Baker

    M.D.Baker Deckhand

    Blog Posts:
    2
    That's a fine example of early "ergonomics." It's like it wasn't designed for two handed entry at all!:D

    Referring to the 1999 keypad.
     
    Graham and Andy Barr like this.
  6. M.D.Baker

    M.D.Baker Deckhand

    Blog Posts:
    2
    Graham likes this.
  7. M.D.Baker

    M.D.Baker Deckhand

    Blog Posts:
    2
    Thank you for your kind words, yes the command centre is still evolving, I still have to add in the brushed metal back-splash and wall trim around it all, but once my chair and globe arrive, I'll be pretty set as far as the interior decorating is concerned.

    And I forgot to answer your question: Yes, my brother has been unleashed on the command centre, but he's not a big fan of retro equipment, he'll play with it all once in a while, I'm sure, but so far he just plays his games on his (mine now) Xbox One

    But I don't currently have a working Atari 8-bit anyway, the 1200XL is down until I finish upgrading the 800, then I can put the Incognito into XL/XE mode and use my R.D. XL/XE eprom burner on it to burn a new OS roms for my 1200XL, which I'm pretty sure is the issue with it, I've tried everything else...then I can use the eprom burner on my 1200XL after that, as intended, to burn more OS roms for the 1200XL I'm fixing up for @Paul "Mclaneinc" Irvine , and the 800XL I'm fixing up for my friend Danny P. Everything came to a stand-still when my 1200XL went belly-up last fall, only having a 48K 800 that couldn't use my eprom burner.

    To top it all off, while working on my 800 upgrades, either merely by coincidence, or some fault of my own, the LM7805 regulator went bell-up on my 800's PSU board, which stopped my upgrading to repair it, and then to top it all off, while I was working on the PSU board and testing voltages, I had a "brain fart" and forgot to turn off & unplug the PSU board when I went to solder in the last 7805 regulator I had on-hand, and ended up frying it out and the 7812 regulator too! So tomorrow I'm expecting a set of 7800 series regulators, including the ones I need, to arrive and hopefully I'll get everything back on track.
     
    Graham, Timothy Kline and Andy Barr like this.
  8. by Timothy Kline
    Timothy Kline

    Timothy Kline Administrator Staff Member

    Blog Posts:
    3
    Articles:
    39
    _________

    I'm 99.99% certain that the VCS pin set is a novelty set and not vintage. My reason for adoption was based on the novelty of the item, actually... especially since I don't have very many Atari pins at this point, just a couple vintage button-style pins. Honestly, I am not a fan, per se, of the VCS (even though I have a 2600 and a dozen or so games to go-with), but the pin set was in immaculate condition already so I hit the bid button, lol. ;)

    --Tim
     
    Graham, Andy Barr and M.D.Baker like this.
  9. M.D.Baker

    M.D.Baker Deckhand

    Blog Posts:
    2
    Well, I'd been waiting on the brushed metal flashing for my command centre until I got around to the home improvement store to pick up more building supplies, which has been postponed due to a lack of a vehicle (which hopefully will be rectified in this coming week) to pull my trailer, but then I finally had a little flickering bulb go off in my head and the thought occurred that I can just order it from Amazon. So it's finally on it's way. I will, of course, show pictures or a short video once it is all installed, but here is a link to what I ordered for now:

    https://www.amazon.com/Stainless-St...hed+metal+flashing&qid=1590329197&sr=8-1&th=1
     
    Graham, Andy Barr and Timothy Kline like this.
  10. M.D.Baker

    M.D.Baker Deckhand

    Blog Posts:
    2
    My globe arrived today, so I'm rediscovering what the world really looks like when it's not laid out on a flat map!
     
    Andy Barr, Graham and Timothy Kline like this.
  11. by Timothy Kline
    Timothy Kline

    Timothy Kline Administrator Staff Member

    Blog Posts:
    3
    Articles:
    39
    ______________

    It's a fake. Everyone knows the Earth is flat. :troll:

    --Tim
     
    Andy Barr, Graham and M.D.Baker like this.
  12. M.D.Baker

    M.D.Baker Deckhand

    Blog Posts:
    2
    LOL! I did discover a very tiny island about 2000 miles southwest of Hawaii, just above the equator and still just barely in the North Pacific, that is named Baker and is a U.S. territory...I'll have to try and visit before I die, a new thing to add to my bucket list!
     
    Andy Barr, Timothy Kline and Graham like this.
  13. Graham

    Graham Deckhand

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Wow lots been going on, loved the pictures of the CX85, i'd never really thought to look or search for one purely as I though it was a joystick or similar.
    Your's looks to be in great condition as well.
    Just an update, there are two replacement 'Pokey' clones or two groups.
    PokeyOne
    This is the version that works as a sound chip only with no support for SIO or Paddles etc.
    but comes as a stereo or even a quad Pokey sound chip for in the main Arcade cabinets, or as a 2nd chip for Stereo, in an Atari Computer.
    Have a look here https://atariage.com/forums/topic/291527-finally-new-pokey-chips/

    PokeyMAX
    Based on a similar concept, but with additional components added external to the FPGA chip they are based on, allows full compatiability with the original Pokey from Atari, as SIO Padles etc all work, plus it does Stereo and can have a built in U1MB or I guess Incognito control all added at the time it's programmed prior to shipment.
    have a look on AA https://atariage.com/forums/topic/295242-pokeymax-v2/#comments
    I PM'd Jurek and started from there price was I think about $50 US with shipping to the UK and conversion £54 sterling, I looked at this cost as being the price of two Pokeys, Marlin (MacRorie) charged me $90 for two brand new originals when I bought my XLD board.

    It looks great for a 800 upgrade as there's nothing to get in the way bar an addition width of a few millimeters, makes it easier on a 600XL as well.

    800 main board looking at PIA & Pokey clerance, I'm aware of the height restriction from the shield.
    but good for PokeyMAX and an Additional PIA :)
    2020-05-19 14.58.00.jpg 2020-05-19 14.58.12.jpg 2020-05-19 15.01.31.jpg

    PokeyMAX comparision with original chip
    2020-05-22 12.05.51.jpg 2020-05-22 12.09.26.jpg 2020-05-22 12.09.46.jpg

    Sat in XLD, not tried just though I'd sit it on the socket (wasnt inserted)
    2020-05-22 12.13.43.jpg
     
    Andy Barr and Timothy Kline like this.
  14. M.D.Baker

    M.D.Baker Deckhand

    Blog Posts:
    2
    Thanks for the info @Graham , but I already did a piggy-back Pokey mod to my 800, so I'd only need the PokeyMax for it if one of the POKEY chips I installed is bad. I had no working keyboard after I installed that upgrade and the Incognito (which worked), and my guess was a bad 74LS chip I used with the Pokey's, but if that isn't it then it means the bottom POKEY must be dead, if that is the case then I may get one for the 800.

    Otherwise I'm looking for POKEY options for the other machines I'm working on. I'm only interested in substitutes if I can't find real POKEY's for less than the PokeyMax. But it's quite possible I still have a couple of Pokey's hiding in a couple of Atari 7800 Ballblazer carts I think I still have in storage. I'll be sorting that all out soon, so I'll know in a couple weeks where I stand with Pokey's.

    My 7800 series regulators arrived yesterday with my globe, so I'll be working on the 800 today...
     
    Andy Barr and Timothy Kline like this.
  15. Graham

    Graham Deckhand

    Blog Posts:
    0
    It's great to hear you have the regulators to fix your 800, I have also found that the 800 has so little clearance around Pokey that the PokeyMAX will in my case end up in there with the original in another Computer as a stereo upgrade. Pokeyone is cheaper I think only $36 U.S however the MAX has both in one package so its the best choice for me, Just hope the Pokeys in your machine are o.k as a PITA to unsolder cleanly when stacked.
     
    Andy Barr likes this.
  16. M.D.Baker

    M.D.Baker Deckhand

    Blog Posts:
    2
    I don't have to desolder, they are both in sockets. I do things professionally, even if DIY.
     
    Graham and Timothy Kline like this.
  17. Graham

    Graham Deckhand

    Blog Posts:
    0
    O.K.that's great, I was under the impression they were actually piggybacked on top of each other
     
  18. M.D.Baker

    M.D.Baker Deckhand

    Blog Posts:
    2
    They are, with a socket in-between and the socket pins are what is cut or soldered. I would have to desolder if I needed the socket removed from the first Pokey, but it certainly doesn't hurt the first Pokey to leave it there. Besides, with my keyboard not working, that means it would have to be the first Pokey* that is bad, so there would be no damage if I desolder the socket since the Pokey is bad anyway. I did this because no current dual Pokey boards will fit where the pokey is located, and I didn't feel like making my own when piggy-backing is good enough.

    I'd do the same with the PIA, but there is room for a board there, and if you are going to make a board, I'll either have you make me one or follow your schematics to make my own.

    *The original Pokey that I know works was removed and I most likely installed the bad Pokey in the mobo socket and the good Pokey is in the socket on top, I didn't bother to keep track of which was which, but that must be the issue. In the mean-time I have several other Pokeys I can take from other non-working machines and worry about replacing them when I get to them, and it might just be a PokeyMAX I replace it with if I can't find an old 7800 Ballblazer cart or two I think I have to salvage Pokeys.
     
    Graham and Andy Barr like this.
  19. Graham

    Graham Deckhand

    Blog Posts:
    0
    I hope you have made some progress with your 800 now, back up and working ?
    lets hope so.
    Feeling a lot less tired so i'm going to try working on the final schematic for the PIA decoder, i'll have to confirm all o.k with a vero based hardware version to check, and only then will I design a circuit board layout, biggest issue with the 800 is getting to the additional addresslines.
     
    Andy Barr and Timothy Kline like this.
  20. M.D.Baker

    M.D.Baker Deckhand

    Blog Posts:
    2
    I wasn't in the mood yesterday to do any electronics, I may get to it today.
     
    Graham and Andy Barr like this.
  21. by Timothy Kline
    Timothy Kline

    Timothy Kline Administrator Staff Member

    Blog Posts:
    3
    Articles:
    39
    Nothing new for me, but found some things in my Atari stuff...

    DodgeRacer (Synapse) disk scan.jpg
    This one has been in the wild, but should be available soon both through the Atari 8-bit Preservation effort as well as AtariMania. I've posted the repaired .atr in the A8 Software SIG for anyone interested.

    I also stumbled across these two odd ducks that don't seem to show up anywhere— A8 Preservation nor AtariMania seem to have listed them among missing software...

    20200526_120537_1280px.jpg

    I need to find out how to capture them to a .car file, or a .wav file at a minimum. In my head, it'll just be a matter of connecting my Sony Walkman to the Line In of my computer and hit play, capturing the audio into Audacity.

    Kay Savetz had PM'd me, offering to dupe them, and I asked him the same as I just explained. I think he just PM'd me, actually, so I'll go have a look.

    Anyhow, that's some of the latest "what's new" for me. :)

    --Tim
     
    Graham, Andy Barr and M.D.Baker like this.
  22. M.D.Baker

    M.D.Baker Deckhand

    Blog Posts:
    2
    Nice lost-and-found. I found some more non-Atari, related items in storage this weekend, audio tapes and CD's, my rare copy of Iron Soldier 3 for the PSX, the sequel to Iron Soldier 1 & 2 on the Atari Jaguar. I did find a few common 2600 games for my 2600.

    My new command centre chair arrived today, It's very comfortable and stylish, but it is still an inch or two lower than I would have like when adjusted to full height, so I'm still using an sofa pillow under my bum to reach the right height.

    20200526_152234.jpg
     
    Graham, Andy Barr and Timothy Kline like this.

Share This Page